top of page

Love Letter to Seoul

It’s true what they say, love finds you when you least expect it. When you’re minding your own business and going about your life, love just has a way of sweeping you off your feet. And that’s exactly what happened between me and Seoul.

Seoul, you truly weren't on my radar or my bucket list at all. At the time of my visit, I was living in a spectacular city, I mean one of the greatest in the world. Shanghai was my faraway home. A city with the perfect mix of ancient and modern so I was constantly in search of the ocean and the mountains for getaways. I wasn’t looking for another city. But like I said, love has a way of finding you and you found me. To be honest you weren't part of the original plan. When planning my South Korea trip I was happy to spend all my days on Jeju Island but I managed to string a few more days on to my holiday and so I tacked you on to the end bit of my trip. Sort of like an after, but between you and me, probably the best after thought I've ever had.

I’d just had a blissful 4 days in Jeju and I was smitten with your country. It might have been because it was my first solo trip and I was left with an electric sense of empowerment but it’s safe to say I was already on cloud 9. I could’ve gone back to Shanghai right then and there but I was lucky enough to have a part 2 to my solo trip. And that’s when I met you. Seoul.



My first memory isn’t of the airport or even the metro ride to Gangnam, where my hotel was, but it was when I walked out of Gangnam station with my luggage. This moment felt magical and this memory is special to me. I’d flown in from Jeju that afternoon and with the metro ride (and a bit of getting lost along the way) it was about early evening.

I finally found the right exit and walked up the stairs, not knowing that the moment that followed would be one that sticks out in my mind and one that I hold close to my heart.

I walked up the stairs and was greeted by a grey sky and gentle drizzle, I looked up at the towering, glittering buildings of Seoul and let the cool Autumn breeze brush against my face and I just knew and felt that this place could be my next faraway home. When I think about that moment now, I get chills and a little ache in my heart. But I guess you could say it was love at first sight.


Over the next few days, you showed me the best of you. I was impressed, you wooed me to no end. Your people were kind, your systems nearly flawless and of course the food. Oh my goodness the food. Your food is rich and comforting and deliciously spicy which is pretty much what I look for in a good meal. I spent most of my first day outdoors and fell in love with the incredible views from the very top of the N Seoul Tower.



The next day was just as incredible as I explored both the ancient and modern sides of you. I spent hours on palace grounds, taking in the ancient architecture and I got to witness the changing of the guards, all the while dressed in my hanbok. The second half of the day was spent high rises and mega malls with libraries and cafes, it felt like a dream.

In my final days I visited enchanting temples, spent a ridiculous amount of time shopping and ate way too much food. At this point I was head over heels and fighting the urge to cancel my flight back to Shanghai. Alas it was time to go, but this was not a goodbye but rather a "see you later". Believe me when I say I long for the day I get to see you again and explore even more.


P.S. Seoul, I miss you and I have endless daydreams of you. Just know that I’m trying to make my way back to you.


All my love,

nomadicnomsi

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page