top of page
  • Writer's picturenomadicnomsi

Jeju Travel Guide for the Solo Traveller


Girl on a bench enjoying the coastal view

I've never been afraid of doing things on my own, from solo dining to solo days at the park, “me-time” has always been a source of comfort. Naturally, when I wanted to go to South Korea and none of my friends were available to join, I figured it was time for my first #solotrip. After some pretty extensive research and countless hours of meticulous planning, I set off on an 8 day trip to South Korea. I spent 4 days and 3 nights on the South Korean Island, Jeju and the rest of my trip in the country’s bustling capital, Seoul. Here’s a little insight on the first leg of my trip, including a little about the island, what I got up to and all the apps I used for this trip.


A Little About Jeju-Do

Jeju is a fairly large island off the South West coast of South Korea. Before my trip I read blog after blog and watched countless vlogs on what to do and tips for travelling to the "Hawaii of Korea". Pretty much every source of information suggested renting a car but since that wasn’t an option for me I really needed to figure out how to get around. Although Jeju doesn’t have a subway system, it does have a pretty decent bus system and if all else fails there are always cabs. There is so much to do in each corner of the vast island so planning is imperative, from where you’ll stay to what you’ll do.

Jeju has impressive hiking trails and diverse beaches - It’s honestly the best of both worlds!

What I Got Up To


Day 1 - Coffee and Gorgeous Views

Seopjikoji

I arrived midday and took care of some “travel admin” like getting my public transportation card and picking up my pre-booked Korean sim-card (thanks to Klook!). I then took a bus to my hotel on the East side of the island. I checked in, dropped off my bags and was off on to my first adventure. I’ve learned to take things easy on the first day of a trip and avoid putting pressure on myself to do too many things. With this in mind, I walked to the nearest coffee shop and enjoyed a condensed milk latte and took in my surroundings.



I later found myself at a beach watching wind surfers doing their thing, and then took a 15 minute walk along the coastline to the ever popular Seopjikoji. This seaside peak offers phenomenal views of the ocean and what better way to end day 1 than with views that take your breath away. Being from a coastal town in South Africa, the crashing waves really gave me a sense of calm and nostalgia.



Day 2 - Sunrise Hike & Island Hopping

Seongsan Ilchulbong & Udo Island

Bright and early, well technically dark and early, but that’s just how the saying goes. Regardless, it was early, and I was off to Seongsan Ilchulbong to watch the rising sun. The climb was short and the sunrise hazy but there really is something special about being on top of the slowly waking world. I, along with 100-odd people, enjoyed gorgeous views of the town, the sea and of-course the glow of the sunrise as we hiked back down the peak.


I took a quick nap before embarking on my next experience, which turned out to be my favourite experience of my entire South Korea trip. I took a ferry to the neighbouring island of Udo and straight up lived my best ever tourist life. If you’re looking for an easy day of exploring and eating, then Udo was made for you. I rented a bike and rode off to tick some items off my “Udo Bucket List”. With a variety of beaches, it didn’t take me long to settle in a spot and enjoy the spectacular weather. Some must-haves when in Jeju or on Udo island is to enjoy peanut ice cream, have some black-pork and drink some tangerine juice. I managed to get my ice cream fix from a charming cafe called Hello Udo. After working up quite the appetite, I stopped for the famous black pork burger and ended off my food tour with a refreshing tangerine juice. I spent the day feeling free, grateful and utterly relaxed. I closed off the day with a swim in my hotel’s rooftop pool whilst the sun set on the perfect day.


Day 3 - Tour of the West of Jeju Island

O'Sulloc Museum, Innisfree, Yeomiji Botanical Garden & Yellow Cafe

Seeing as my hotel was on the east side of the island my last full day was spent on the west side. I had quite a few things to tick off my bucket list. First up, the O’Sulloc Green Tea Plantation and Museum for matcha ice cream and optimal people watching along with the history behind green tea. Right next to it is the Innisfree Jeju House which is essentially cosmetic and skincare heaven with a stunning cafe where I enjoyed a refreshing beverage.


My next stop was Yeomiji Botanical Gardens. I spent hours lost in the gardens and the greenhouses and even found a piece of home when I spotted a Strelitzia (Bird of Paradise flower that’s native to South Africa). With a full heart but a pretty empty stomach I took a walk across the street to the Yellow Cafe. South Korea is known to have cute and quirky cafes and Jeju is no different! The cafe was adorable and had mostly banana themed menu items. I enjoyed a creamy banana milkshake topped with banana ice cream (a best seller) and then I made my way back to the other side of the island, towards my hotel. My bus route stopped near Jeongbang Waterfall which I wanted to see whilst on this trip but it was pretty late and getting dark. As a solo traveller it’s important to put safety first! So I just went back to the hotel and I packed my bags.


Day 4 - Chasing Waterfalls

Jeongbang Waterfall

Travel day, I had a bittersweet goodbye ahead. I was leaving my island paradise but also jetting off to the next leg of the trip. Before the ‘jetting off’ part of the day, I still had to go see the only Asian waterfall that flows directly into the ocean. Jeongbang Waterfall was unbelievably cool and the most spectacular way to bid Jeju farewell. With a final treat at a cafe near my hotel, I was off to the airport to catch my afternoon flight.


Apps I Used

  • Trip.com - I used this to book my flights and hotel. The app is easy to use and offers great discounts. I stayed at The Best Jeju Seongsan which was close to many of the attractions I wanted to visit and worked out perfectly! The hotel also had a rooftop pool with free entrance, perfect for watching the sunset after a full day of adventures. (Some hotels in Jeju charge an additional fee for access to their rooftop pool so make sure to read the reviews before booking)

  • Klook - I used Klook to prebook my Korean sim card. All I had to do was pick it up from the kiosk when I got to the airport. This app is a lifesaver and offers deals at discounted rates on tourist attractions, activities and helpful travel needs.

  • Naver Map which is available for download on android and iOS devices makes using the bus system in Jeju super easy.


This trip was one of my favourites and as taxing as the planning process was, it was an absolute dream to live out my plans on my own and at my own pace. I had a fab time and would go again in a heartbeat. Seriously.

Next Stop: Seoul!

172 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page